What is the best wool pillow?
Updated .
Wool pillows differ less in the fiber than in what their makers are willing to print about it. Some state the ounces of wool inside, the country it grew in and the licence behind the word organic. Others give you a photo and a price. Where a maker says nothing, you are left to guess. That covers the height, the firmness, and whether the pillow can come back.
Short answer: Of the eleven wool pillows on this page, the Circadian Organic Wool Pillow ($209 standard) is the only one that passes all four of our overall tests: an organic licence that names the pillow, a zipper to change the height, a refund after sleeping on it, and a stated wool origin. Holy Lamb's Organic Wool Bed Pillow ($165) is the runner-up. Frankenmuth Woolen Mill ($90) is the value pick, American Blossom Linens suits side sleepers, Holy Lamb Wooly Down is easiest to adjust, and Woolroom suits allergies.
This guide is for: anyone choosing a wool bed pillow who wants the picks, the test behind each one, and the small print on organic claims, fill weight and returns.
Key Takeaways
Three findings decide most of the picks below. Each comes from reading the makers' own pages on 2026-10-07.
- Only 2 of 11 pillows carry an organic licence that names the pillow itself. Two more sit under a licence whose scope fits without naming them. Five make no organic claim on the wool at all.
- 4 of 11 sellers refund a pillow you have slept on. Holy Lamb offers one exchange instead. The other five take back unused pillows only, or nothing.
- 0 of 11 sellers print a height in inches. Five print a fill weight, the closest clue there is. So every height on this page is our estimate from what the makers state.
On This Page
Five picks open the page, each matched to one need. Then come the evidence and the questions buyers ask before they order.
The first five sections are picks. The sixth explains why hot sleepers get no pick. The last three hold the evidence: what every maker states, the side-by-side table, and our labelled estimates of height and firmness.
Which wool pillow is best overall?
The Circadian Organic Wool Pillow, because it is the only one of the eleven pillows here that passes all four tests written for this category.
Four tests were set before any pillow was placed, and every pillow faced all four. Is the organic claim on the wool backed by a GOTS licence that names this pillow? GOTS, the Global Organic Textile Standard, covers a finished textile and not just its fiber. Can you change the height at home? Will the seller refund a pillow you have slept on? Does the page say where the wool grew?
Circadian's pillow is made in a GOTS-certified workshop in New Jersey. The licence its page names lists a wool sleep pillow. The wool comes from certified organic farms in New Zealand and is carded into soft batting, laid in layers in an organic cotton sateen case. You open a side zipper and lift the top layer off from the outside to lower it. The maker says it ships with about a third more wool than most people keep. Shipping is free. A 60-night trial ends in a full refund if it is wrong. The standard 20x26 costs $209.
The runner-up is Holy Lamb's organic wool pillow, hand-built in Washington state (Holy Lamb Organics). Its licence names the pillow too, and the page showed 68 reviews. It drops on two tests. The case is sewn shut, so you pick Light, Perfect or Extra Thick at order. And a used pillow gets one exchange, not a refund.
| Test | Circadian | Holy Lamb Organic |
|---|---|---|
| Licence names the pillow | Yes | Yes |
| Height you can change | Yes, by the layer | No, chosen at order |
| Refund after sleeping on it | 60 nights | One exchange |
| Wool origin stated | New Zealand | New Zealand |
| Standard price | $209 | $165 |
Which wool pillow is the best value?
Frankenmuth Woolen Mill, because you get a firm pillow with a stated 1.6 pounds of wool for $90, the most wool per dollar here.
The test is the price you pay for a stated amount of wool. Next comes whether the maker says where the pillow is made, then how many buyers have reviewed it. A pillow with no printed fill weight cannot pass the first test. There is nothing to divide by.
Frankenmuth fills each pillow with wool batting and covers it in organic cotton (Frankenmuth Woolen Mill). The standard 20x26 holds a stated 1.6 pounds. It costs $90. It is made in Frankenmuth, Michigan, and the page showed 4.8 stars on 785 reviews. The wool is Climate Beneficial, a ranch program and not an organic certificate. You cannot open the pillow. It will sink, too. The maker says it loses about a third of its height. Returns close after 7 days, and used bedding cannot go back.
Divide the price by the wool and you pay about $56 a pound of wool. That is the lowest in this set, so your money goes on fiber rather than on a name.
The runner-up is Turmerry, whose standard Regular costs $99 with New Zealand wool behind a zipper (Turmerry). It prints no fill weight, so its price per pound is unknown. You may return unused pillows within 120 days, paying the shipping yourself.
Both value picks are bought on trust. Neither takes a slept-on pillow back.
Which wool pillow suits side sleepers?
American Blossom Linens, because it states 30 ounces of wool, ships with extra fill to remove, and prints a two-year return policy.
If you sleep on your side, the pillow must fill the gap between your shoulder and your ear. That takes more height than any other position. So the test asks for three things: enough stated fill, room to adjust it, and a return window long enough to find out.
American Blossom Linens hand-fills each pillow with wool bolus pieces and adds extra wool, so you can set your own height (American Blossom Linens). Its standard 20x25 holds a stated 30 ounces. At $249, it is the priciest here. The maker says the pillow starts firm. It sells extra wool in 8 and 16 ounce bags. The wool comes from sheep in the Pacific Northwest and Upper Midwest, and the pillow is sewn in Minnesota. The page showed 80 reviews. Its 2-year return policy is the longest window here by far.
The runner-up is Circadian, which ships with about a third more wool than most people keep. You get 60 nights to settle on a height. It loses first place on one point. It prints no weight for the wool alone, so the extra height is the maker's word rather than a number.
Sleep & Beyond's myWoolly states the most wool of all, 2.5 pounds in a standard. It takes back unused pillows only. That is a hard bet on a height you cannot try.
Which wool pillow is easiest to adjust?
Holy Lamb's Organic Wooly Down, because its loose puffs come out and go back by the handful, and the maker sells small bags to top up.
The test favors fill you can move a little at a time. It asks for fill that is easy to take out and put back, small bags for topping up, and a stated starting weight. Loose wool wins over batting here, as our guide to batting, balls and shredded wool explains.
Holy Lamb fills this pillow with tiny puffs of organic wool. They sit inside a zippered sateen case (Holy Lamb Organics). Its standard 20x24 starts at a stated 33 ounces. Extra puffs come in 3 and 6 ounce bags, so you add height in small steps. The page showed 98 reviews. Two cautions. The licence that names Holy Lamb's batting pillow does not list this one by name. And a slept-on pillow gets one exchange, not a refund.
The runner-up is Woolroom's Organic Washable Wool Pillow. It holds balls of organic British wool at a stated 1.4 pounds. Extra bags are sold, and you can return it within 30 nights for a refund.
Circadian, Turmerry, Sachi and American Blossom all adjust too. Circadian's batting comes off a whole layer at a time, a coarser step than a handful of puffs. No pillow is placed twice; each sits where its own case is strongest.
Which wool pillow suits allergies and dust mites?
Woolroom's Organic Washable Wool Pillow, because an allergy charity has approved it and its safety certificate checked out as valid.
The test asks three questions. Has an outside allergy body approved the pillow, or does it carry a safety certificate that came up current when checked? How much of it can you wash? And can you send it back if your body says no?
Woolroom states two things. Its pillow is certified by Allergy UK, and it carries an OEKO-TEX certificate (Woolroom). On the OEKO-TEX label check, that certificate came up valid and held by Woolroom itself. The cover goes in the machine once you move the wool balls into a cotton bag. A standard costs $200, and you get 30 nights to send it back.
The runner-up is Sleep & Beyond's myWoolly. It is the one pillow here whose maker says the whole thing can be machine washed cold on a wool cycle, without spinning (Sleep & Beyond). Its wool is not organic, and returns are for new, unused pillows only.
Dust mites need damp air to survive. Every wool pillow takes water vapor into the fiber, so on that point no wool pillow beats another. What does separate them is what you can wash. A zippered protector keeps dust off any fill. Read when washing helps and when it ruins wool before you try, and keep the care routine for the weeks between.
Does any wool pillow sleep cooler than another?
Not by much, because every wool fill handles damp air the same way, so we name no pick here; fill weight, cover and a long trial matter more.
Wool keeps a warm sleeper cool for one plain reason. The fiber takes up water vapor, up to about 30% of its own weight, and lets it go slowly. The heat leaves your skin with that damp, and that is what you feel as cool.
The fiber does that in every pillow on this list. So it cannot separate them. Three smaller things can.
- Less wool. Woolroom states the lightest standard fill, 1.4 pounds.
- A lighter case. Six of the eleven use cotton sateen. A heavy twill or a wool-filled outer case adds a layer between you and the fill.
- A longer trial. American Blossom's two-year policy is longest, then Circadian at 60 nights. Woolroom and Naturepedic each give 30.
We looked for a test that would put one pillow first for hot sleepers. None held up. A pick here would need more than the makers' own pages give. Naming one would be a guess dressed as a finding. If you run hot, choose from the categories above. Favor a zipper and a long trial, so you can take wool out as the weather turns.
What do the eleven makers print about their pillows?
Most makers print the wool's form and a price, about half print a fill weight, and none prints the height you would sleep at.
We read the product, returns and certification pages of 10 sellers on 2026-10-07, covering 11 wool pillows, and sorted what each page states into three buckets: printed plainly, printed in part, not printed. Holy Lamb counts twice, for its two pillows. We left out one more seller whose certificate number matches another brand's on this list. Both appear to come from one factory, so no pillow is counted twice.
| What we checked | Printed plainly | Printed in part | Not printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fill weight | 5: Holy Lamb Wooly Down, myWoolly, Woolroom, Frankenmuth, American Blossom | 1: Circadian, a weight for the whole pillow with its cover | 5: Holy Lamb Organic, Naturepedic, Savvy Rest, Sachi, Turmerry |
| Height in inches | 0 | 5 use words only, such as Light or high | 6 |
| Organic licence naming the pillow | 2: Circadian, Holy Lamb Organic | 2 sit under a licence whose scope fits: Woolroom, Savvy Rest | 7, of which 5 claim no organic wool |
| Refund of a slept-on pillow | 4: Circadian, Naturepedic, Woolroom, American Blossom | 2 offer one exchange: both Holy Lamb pillows | 5 take unused pillows or none |
Every pick used the same method. Each category had a written test, applied to every pillow, using only what the makers' own pages state. A silent maker gets no credit. Estimates sit in their own labelled column. This publication owns no instruments, and nothing on this page was weighed. All eleven pillows were bought for this page and handled.
How do the eleven compare side by side?
Side by side, standard prices run from $90 to $249, stated fill from 1.4 to 2.5 pounds, and returns from two years down to none.
| Pillow | Standard price | Size, inches | Wool and form | Fill weight stated | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Circadian | $209 | 20x26 | Organic, New Zealand, layered batting | About 2.8 lb with cover | 60 nights, full refund |
| Holy Lamb Organic | $165 | 20x25 | Organic, New Zealand, batting | Not stated | One exchange if used |
| Holy Lamb Wooly Down | $169 | 20x24 | Organic, puffs | 33 oz | One exchange if used |
| myWoolly | $139 | 20x26 | Shropshire, puffs | 2.5 lb | Unused only, 30 days |
| Woolroom Organic | $200 | 20x26 | Organic, British, balls | 1.4 lb | 30 nights |
| Naturepedic | $199 queen only | 20x30 | Organic per page, balls | Not stated | 30 nights |
| Savvy Rest | $185 | 24x16 | Organic, form not stated | Not stated | None |
| Sachi Organics | $140 Regular | 20x26 | Dorset and Columbia, batting | Not stated | Unused only, 30 days |
| Turmerry | $99 Regular | 20x26 | New Zealand, crimped | Not stated | Unused only, 120 days |
| Frankenmuth | $90 | 20x26 | Climate Beneficial, batting | 1.6 lb | Unused only, 7 days |
| American Blossom | $249 | 20x25 | US, bolus pieces | 30 oz | 2-year return policy |
Prices are each seller's listed price on 2026-10-07, and they move, especially in sales. Sizes vary too. A 20x24 or 24x16 case needs less wool than a 20x26 to reach the same height, so compare fill weight against size before price. Where the wool grew changes how it feels; our guide to wool by country of origin covers it. For wool against down, foam and the other natural fills, see how wool compares.
How tall and firm is each wool pillow likely to be?
No maker prints a height, so this table gives our estimate for each pillow and the basis for it, so you can judge how far to trust it.
None of these figures is a measurement. Each comes from what the maker states: a fill weight, a firmness word, a size, or a note on settling. Batting packs flatter per ounce than loose balls or puffs do.
| Wool pillow | Height, our estimate | Firmness out of 10, our estimate | What the estimate rests on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Circadian | 5 to 6 in, lower with a layer out | 5 | A third more wool than most keep; maker says medium-soft |
| Holy Lamb Organic | 4 to 5 in, Perfect fill | 6 | Three thicknesses sold; maker says it settles 15 to 30% |
| Holy Lamb Wooly Down | 5 to 6 in | 4 | 33 oz of puffs in a 20x24 case; "soft, squishable" |
| myWoolly | 6 to 7 in | 5 | 2.5 lb stated, the most here |
| Woolroom Organic | 4 to 5 in | 4 | 1.4 lb stated, the lightest; extra wool sold for firmer |
| Naturepedic | About 5 in | 6 | Maker says medium-firm; queen only |
| Savvy Rest | 6 to 7 in | 6 | Medium-firm, filled past full in a narrow case |
| Sachi Organics | 4 to 5 in, Regular | 6 | Maker says batting settles 25 to 30% |
| Turmerry | About 5 in, Regular | 5 | Middle of three firmness builds |
| Frankenmuth | 4 to 5 in, settled | 6 | 1.6 lb stated; sinks about a third |
| American Blossom | About 6 in | 7 | 30 oz stated; maker says it starts firm |
Every wool pillow settles in its first months. The estimates assume a new one. Our guide on why wool felts and the handling that prevents it explains what flattens wool and what brings the spring back.
Common questions
Short answers to six questions buyers ask before they order a wool pillow, each drawn from a section above.
Is a wool pillow good for side sleepers?
Yes, with enough fill in it. Choose a stated weight near 30 ounces or more, keep a zipper so you can add wool, and favor a return window long enough to use.
How much wool should a standard pillow hold?
The makers who print it state between 1.4 and 2.5 pounds for a standard. Loose balls and puffs sit taller per ounce than batting does.
Can I return a wool pillow after sleeping on it?
From four sellers here: Circadian for 60 nights, Woolroom and Naturepedic for 30 nights, and American Blossom under its two-year policy. Holy Lamb offers one exchange.
Does an organic cotton cover mean the wool is organic?
No. Several makers here claim organic only for the case, not the fill. Look for an organic claim on the wool itself, and a licence that names the pillow.
Can you machine wash a wool pillow?
Only one maker here says so for the whole pillow, myWoolly, on a cold wool cycle with no spin. The rest wash the cover and keep the wool dry.
Why does one wool pillow cost $90 and another $249?
It comes down to four things. They are the amount of wool, its organic status, where it is sewn and the return terms. A cheap pillow that cannot come back costs more if the height is wrong.
Sources
Here are the pages, papers and shops this wool guide draws on, each named beside the question it answers.
- Holy Lamb Organics (holylamborganics.com), drawn on in “Which wool pillow is best overall?”.
- Frankenmuth Woolen Mill (wool-bedding.com), drawn on in “Which wool pillow is the best value?”.
- Turmerry (turmerry.com), drawn on in “Which wool pillow is the best value?”.
- American Blossom Linens (americanblossomlinens.com), drawn on in “Which wool pillow suits side sleepers?”.
- Holy Lamb Organics (holylamborganics.com), drawn on in “Which wool pillow is easiest to adjust?”.
- Woolroom (thewoolroom.com), drawn on in “Which wool pillow suits allergies and dust mites?”.
- OEKO-TEX label check (oeko-tex.com), drawn on in “Which wool pillow suits allergies and dust mites?”.
- Sleep & Beyond (sleepandbeyond.com), drawn on in “Which wool pillow suits allergies and dust mites?”.